top of page
Search
  • Adetunji Adelola

The Executioner

Stood there, in my black  shirt and mask, gripping the handle of the axe firmly, awaiting my king's command. I was about to behead another. He is a traitor, the king said, he has been  accused  of treason,and treason has but one punishment.  Off with his head, into the basket with rest of them, so I raised my axe above my head, and as I stood there trying to find the right angle, the right spot on the cervical spine, it hit me, I don't know what I'm going to eat after work today, I should get groceries then head home to cook. When the axe came down, I realized the traitor's head was bigger than the rest of the heads in the basket and beef was the better option protein-wise.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Rural Murder

Chapter One: The Night It Happened** 12:35 AM on a Saturday in Ogotun. The nights here are usually quiet, but something was in the air...

The Moroccan

This Moroccan boy must have been living in that cell for almost a year, in and out of detention centers for months. I had always noticed...

Jungle politics

It was a calm evening in the jungles of Congo, a calm breeze gently blew the trees back and forth. The jungle was alive that night, it...

1 Comment


Oluwaferanmi Ajayi
Oluwaferanmi Ajayi
Feb 06

Moral treason

Like
bottom of page