top of page
Search
  • Adetunji Adelola

The Moroccan

This Moroccan boy must have been living in that cell for almost a year, in and out of detention centers for months. I had always noticed the scars around his neck and shaved head - so many scars. People told me he did it all to himself, to convince his jailers to release him. I didn't want to believe it, but I knew it was true; he did it to himself. One day, we were in the cells, goofing around. We heard a loud noise from the next cell, and we ran towards the tiny window at our door to see what was up. His fellow countrymen in the room with him were screaming, banging the door heavily. The guards showed up and used their comms to call for the medical team; this guy was in agony, he was wailing. They opened the doors, had to push all those people back I guess because it sounded like they were brawling. They brought the injured guy out; there was blood everywhere. They took him away quickly. A couple of hours later, they brought him back; everyone had already gone back to their norms - making phone calls with the payphones, drinking tea, watching English action movies with Turkish audio in the common room. I was standing outside the common area when I saw him again; they had to stitch him from the back of his head to the end of his neck. I asked his friends how that happened; they said he used a broken medicine bottle to tear himself deep from his head to his neck. I asked them why; they said so these people would release him. I started laughing; I told them he has like 30 scars around his head and neck. Don't you think they would prefer to keep that psycho outlook inside here with us? He looks too ugly to be outside now; he took it too far.                                                                                

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rural Murder

Chapter One: The Night It Happened** 12:35 AM on a Saturday in Ogotun. The nights here are usually quiet, but something was in the air...

Jungle politics

It was a calm evening in the jungles of Congo, a calm breeze gently blew the trees back and forth. The jungle was alive that night, it...

The Executioner

Stood there, in my black  shirt and mask, gripping the handle of the axe firmly, awaiting my king's command. I was about to behead...

Comments


bottom of page